Kindle 3.3 – Jailbreak Friendly

[Update: I uninstalled 2 intrusive hacks, Keybru 0.05 and usbNetwork, and tried to update to 3.3 again. It went on smoothly, and finally showed version 3.3 in the Settings page.

If you have unintrusive ones, like screensavers, font hack or launchpad, you should be able to update without problems, with custom screensavers still work after update of course.]

[Update 2: Just to let you know that I reinstalled those two hacks back successfully without hiccups. (Keybru 0.07, though. I’ll cover this great keyboard hack very soon. Stay tuned.)]

Amazon sent an email to me that Kindle Software Update 3.3 is available to download for my Kindle Keyboard.

So I went on and updated my Kindle. It installed smoothly without any error popped up, but after updated it still shows that I have version 3.1. I guess I have to uninstall the hacks I have first. Maybe I’ll do that later.

If you don’t know how to jailbreak, head over to my post here.

If you want to update your Kindle, in case it doesn’t do automatically, here are the links.

Kindle Keyboard Wi-Fi: Download 3.3
Your serial number will start with “B008″

Kindle Keyboard 3G (Free 3G + Wi-Fi) – U.S. and Canadian Customers: Download 3.3
Your serial number will start with “B006″

Kindle Keyboard 3G (Free 3G + Wi-Fi) – European Customers: Download 3.3
Your serial number will start with “B00A”

To view Version 3.3 Overview:

Kindle Keyboard Version 3.3 Overview

Some of the features included in this update are:

    • Download your archived Personal Documents on Kindle Keyboard: You can now view and download your archived personal documents to your Kindle Keyboard conveniently anywhere at any time. Your personal documents will be stored in your Kindle library until you delete them from Manage Your Kindle.
    • Whispersync for Personal Documents on Kindle Keyboard: Just as with Kindle books, Whispersync automatically synchronizes your last page read, bookmarks and annotations for personal documents (with the exception of PDFs) across the Kindle devices. Learn more about Kindle Personal Document Service.
    • AmazonLocal deals on Kindle Keyboard with Special Offers: Kindle Keyboard with Special Offers users in many regions can now view,purchase, and redeem AmazonLocal deals directly from Kindle Keyboard — no computer, no printer, no hassle. AmazonLocal offers savings up to 75% off products and services from businesses in your city, national chains and online merchants. Learn more about AmazonLocal on www.amazonlocal.com.
    • Voice Guide Shortcut: Kindle Keyboard users can now quickly turn the Voice Guide feature on and off by holding the Shift key and pressing Spacebar.  Voice Guide reads aloud menu options, content listings and item descriptions. To learn more about using Voice Guide on Kindle Keyboard, visit Customize Your Reading on Kindle.
6 thoughts on “Kindle 3.3 – Jailbreak Friendly

  1. Brad says:

    it puzzles me how all the articles about Kindle Jailbreaking says it’s dead simple and doesn’t require much thought compared to iPhone / iPad.

    Yet, for the life of me, I can’t figure out, why those articles claim this when all of these article have confusing updates that makes no sense if you’re jailbreaking your kindle for the first time and have firmware 3.3

    p.s. iPhone / iPad jailbreaking is extremely simpler compared to this. And the sad part is all I want is to remove these tasteless screensavers of dead people that stupid amazon doesn’t seem to be willing to remove

  2. sanya f says:

    thank you! i tried this last week (from another site), and mostly windows based users. I thought my mac and kindle were the only ones not speaking with each other! ;)

  3. KindleUser says:

    I just wanted to confirm to make sure I read your post correctly…

    I have already jailbroke my kindle (a while ago, so going back might confuse me at this point). It’s version 3.1. The only thing my kindle hack does is let me customize my screensavers.

    I want to apply the new amazon kindle updates (3.3 and 3.4). Can I just drop the Amazon updates onto my jailbroke kindle as usual or do I have to uninstall the jailbreak first.

    Thank you for your help.

    • I'm Kindled says:

      Hi, if custom screensavers is the only tweak you install, I’m pretty sure you can update the firmware right away. I think the screensavers will still be there, but you also can install the new jailbreak just to make sure it’s properly jailbroken again. Hope this helps :)

      • KindleUser says:

        Hi. I just wanted to report back that I used the Amazon Kindle updates (3.3 and 3.4) on my jailbroke Kindle with the Kindle hack that lets me customize screensavers. It worked just fine and I still see my custom screensavers. I was very easy and I didn’t need to re-jailbreak anything.

        Thank you!

Share your thoughts !! :D

